100 Days of Yoga, Day 4

Leave a comment

August 23, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

Dear All,

Before we begin with the plans for today, I’d like to take a few words to review yesterday.  As you recall, yesterday I took on the Yamas of both Compassion and Truthfulness.  How did I do, you ask?  In a word: nicely.  How?  I cheated.  I spent about (or as we like to say up here, aboot) two hours in the presence of my yoga teacher.  A gifted and insightful woman who was born to teach yoga.  She has that sort of calm voice that makes it possible to fall asleep during sivasana (but don’t, that’s against the rules. You could go to Yoga Jail!)

My yoga teacher is the kind of gal who knows how to meet you exactly where you are, not where she wants you to be, not where you want you to be, but where you  are in that very moment.  But instead of returning whatever frenetic energy I may or may not be putting out with equal parts frenzy, she returns it with calm. And she continues to do that, until the inner me picks up the cue and settles into just breathing, into just being in that moment with her.  She speaks slowly and deliberately (mindfully.)  She is a person I both envy and try to emulate.  At one point, as I was ranting about (see above) the near car wreck of earlier in the day when my 80 pound golden retriever, jumped from the backseat into my lap as I was driving down Upper A, I heard her whisper “compassion, compassion, compassion.”  Or maybe it was at another moment, but I swear, that was what she was whispering.  I think yoga can make you the kind of person other people actually want to spend time with.

So maybe it wasn’t really cheating.  Maybe it was good planning, wise intervention, maybe even my HIGHER SELF was in charge.  And the lunch was tasty too.

Enough Said.  I am ready for Day Four of our 100 days of Yoga.  The Yama today is Non-stealing.  Here is the description:

3. Asteya – Non-stealing

Steya means “to steal”; asteya is the opposite-to take nothing that does not belong to us. This also means that if we are in a situation where someone entrusts something to us or confides in us, we do not take advantage of him or her. Non-stealing includes not only taking what belongs to another without permission, but also using something for a different purpose to that intended, or beyond the time permitted by its owner.iii   The practice of asteya implies not taking anything that has not been freely given. This includes fostering a consciousness of how we ask for others’ time for inconsiderate behavior demanding another’s attention when not freely given is, in effect, stealing.  Credit to:

The Eight Limbs , The Core of Yoga
by William J.D. Doran

You see why I needed to cut and paste.  Today my practice will be: Compassion, Truthfulness and Non-stealing.  Yes, all three.  The cumulative effect.

Pranayama:  Inhale for a count of 10, hold for three, exhale for a count of 12, rest for two.  I’m going to go for a good five minutes on this one because I will be running later and will need all the lung expansion I can get.

Asana:  M is back from fishing (before he leaves tomorrow to go fishing in Canada) so I need something I can modify for him.  I’m really in the mood for some balance poses, so M will lean against the wall so he can follow along.  Then I’ll add a shoulder stand, a twist and finally sivasana.

For those of you who want to read the articles from Elephant Journal, but not subscribe, I’ve “shared” them on my Facebook page.

Yours in Compassion, Truthfulness and Non-Stealing, Chris

Leave a Reply

