100 Days of Yoga, Day 6

Leave a comment

August 25, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

Dear All:  The world is an amazing conundrum.*  Bigger than we can wrap our minds around.  Filled with mysterious events.

Yesterday morning I decided to do my practice near the water.  As the dogs and I stepped onto the dock, two bald eagles, locked in combat, fell from the sky, less than 20 feet in front of us.  We watched as they struggled in the water, squawking, fighting to get lose from one another in an apparent duel to the end.  The struggle was so intense, white feathers were in the air.  After what seemed like minutes, but was probably less than one minute, one of them was able to get free.  It lifted itself from the water and flew away.  The other eagle was sinking.  It’s head was the only part of his body you could see.  In a panic I tried to figure out how to help, how to get close enough to help him out of the water before he drowned.  But then, swooping down from right behind us came another, a third bald eagle, who dipped down toward the eagle in the water.  Whatever transpired between the two, if anything, caused the sinking eagle to rally, pull itself up out of the water and fly away — albeit barely.

I spent much of the day reflecting on the experience with the eagles, wondering where it fit with my practice or even IF it fit with my practice.   I talked to a very wise friend, who also happens to be a therapist.  She said I should look at the experience as if it was a dream, one with a significant meaning, just for me.  After all, how many of us get to see such an amazing, spectacular event.  So that’s what I did.

Today’s practice:

Pranayama: Today I will do Dr. Andrew Weil’s 4-7-8 breath work.  As usual, it can be found on the WWW.

http://www.drweil.com/drw/u/ART00521/three-breathing-exercises.html

Like an athlete getting ready for football season, I will do my “two-a-day’s” meditation practice.  I use a mantra method, but there are many others.  Here’s a link to one, if you are at all interested:

http://www.elephantjournal.com/2010/01/chogyam-trungpa-rinpoche-meditation-101/

Asana:  Gotta keep it fresh, right?  I will definitely include an eagle pose, but I’m thinking I want to keep trying to open my heart.  I didn’t get to the wheel yesterday because … well, I’m going to need to put some work into getting there.  A lot of work.  I will start with ten or so sets of sun salutations to get me warmed up and then move on to a bridge pose, a plow and lastly get that killer foam roller out (dang you, Matt!) and see how open I can actually get my chest.  From there, I will get a chair to assist me with a back bend — or at least I’ll give it a try.  I think I’ll do sivasana in a child’s pose in order to counter the back bend.

Yama:  And I quote: 5. Aparigraha – Neutralizing the desire to acquire and hoard wealth

Aparigraha means to take only what is necessary, and not to take advantage of a situation or act greedy. We should only take what we have earned; if we take more, we are exploiting someone else. The yogi feels that the collection or hoarding of things implies a lack of faith in God and in himself to provide for his future.v Aparigraha also implies letting go of our attachments to things and an understanding that impermanence and change are the only constants.  ~ William J. D. Doran

KEEP YOUR EYES PEELED FOR MIRACLES OF NATURE, AND OTHER SUCH THINGS.

With great kindness and my most profound wishes for your happiness, Chris

* Many meanings to this word.  I chose, Merriam-Webster:  Conundrum: a question or problem having only a conjectural answer.

Leave a Reply

