100 Days of Yoga, Day 11

1

August 30, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

“What will bring peace is inward transformation, which will lead to outward action. Inward transformation is not isolation, is not withdrawal from outward action. On the contrary, there can be right action only when there is right thinking and there is no right thinking when there is no self-knowledge. Without knowing yourself, there is no peace. An Ideal is merely an escape, an avoidance of what is, a contradiction of what is. An ideal prevents direct action upon what is. To have peace, we will have to love, we will have to begin not to live an ideal life but to see things as they are and act upon them, transform them. As long as each one of us is seeking psychological security, the physiological security we need; food, clothing and shelter, is destroyed. Some of you will nod your heads and say, “I agree”, and go outside and do exactly the same as you have been doing for the last ten or twenty years. Your agreement is merely verbal and has no significance, for the world’s miseries and wars are not going to be stopped by your casual assent. They will be only stopped when you realize the danger, when you realize your responsibility, when you do not leave it to somebody else. If you realize the suffering, if you see the urgency of immediate action and do not postpone, then you will transform yourself.” 
― J. Krisnamurti

I can’t begin to count how many times I’ve re-written this one. This can be a tricky area: suggesting people learn who they actually are.  I think part of the problem I’ve had in writing this one is the problem I have in admitting the following: until a few years ago, when I started therapy, I had to depend on other people to tell me who I was.

I think I am not alone on this, although I used to think I was.  Talking to a professional, someone who can teach you about yourself, was a very positive experience for me.

Me, was a topic about which I thought I was an expert.  The process of taking apart who I thought I was, and putting it back together as who I really was, was life-altering.  I wish I’d been able to do it sooner.  I also wish the process was over, but I suspect I have a way to go still.   There are many reasons why we have to go through this process.  Only you know if you’ve made it through.

Mr. Doran tells us this:

Svadhyaya – Self study 

The fourth niyama is svadhyaya. Sva means “self’ adhyaya means “inquiry” or “examination”. Any activity that cultivates self-reflective consciousness can be considered svadhyaya. It means to intentionally find self-awareness in all our activities and efforts, even to the point of welcoming and accepting our limitations. It teaches us to be centered and non-reactive to the dualities, to burn out unwanted and self-destructive tendencies.

And …

I know myself now, and I feel within me A peace above all earthly dignities,
A still and quiet conscience.  ~ William Shakespeare

For me, this alone does it.  To know myself = peace.  Without peace, how can there be happiness?

Pranayama for today:  Breath of Fire

Asana:  It is a very hot day today, unusual for up here in the North Country.  Today I choose to do Restorative Yoga.  My yoga teacher friend send me an email reminding me about cutting myself some slack on the wheel pose.  I am grateful for the reminder.

There are videos available for today’s breathing technique as well as today’s asana.  I’d love to have you join me (seriously, I’ve got a guest room and everything!)

With great kindness, c

One thought on “100 Days of Yoga, Day 11

  1. Maja says:

    You may not know how grateful I am to you for this blog.. so, I decided to write it here: THANK YOU! Greetings from Poland 🙂

Leave a Reply

