100 Days of Yoga, Day 23

2

September 13, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

For some of us, it is so easy to overlook the power of our words.  Yesterday I used the word “you” a lot more than I wanted to.  I wish I had used the word “we” instead.

It is a valuable lesson for me, because I am one of those people who has to really think about how I’m going to say something, in addition to what I am going to say.  On top of that, I am burdened with not knowing how I feel about something until I think about it for a while.  But that is a topic for another day.

We all know the power of words.  Perhaps we think our words are small, even insignificant, but the energy behind them is actually quite huge.  Our words can convey love, kindness, cruelty, hatred, bigotry … so many things.  It is one of the biggest reasons we learn to become mindful.  I think when my mother told me: if you can’t say something nice, then don’t say anything at all, she gave me some good advice.

And on a related topic …

When we lie to someone, we do ourselves and the other person more damage than I can even explain.  There is a huge amount of energy attached to a lie.  Telling someone a lie is worse than hitting them.  Hitting is out there.  It hurts, but you know you’ve been hit, and you will recover.  When you lie, or when you’re lied to, the energy is unacknowledged, but still present.  It burrows into you, causing you to feel shame.  Shame is like a flesh-eating bacteria.  It causes dis-ease.  The person being hit with the lie is exposed to the bacteria.   We all know when we’re being lied to.  We are polite, however, and don’t want to call someone out on it — at least not directly.  We might tell someone else, but then what we’ve done, karmically speaking, is even worse.  Lying is one of the biggest misuses of our words.  It erodes relationships.  It damages our children.  And it doesn’t work.  It has no actual productive point.  It is only harmful.  It is only negative.  It is only damaging.  So let’s just TELL THE TRUTH.

The more I do this blog, the less I realize I have to say.  So much of life if filled with noise.  That noise contributes to our “brain noise.”  For some reason we think we need to make constant mind comments on what is going on: “oh, there is a car up ahead.  Is it blue?  I think it is sort of a blue/green.  Mike would probably say it is green, but I think it is blue — oh look, there goes a bear.”  Is it just me or does everyone else have this craziness in the brain?  All this kind of thinking really is exhausting, and for me, pointless.  I can lose myself for hours in speculation about something I perceive I did wrong and how I’m going to try to fix it.  Let me give you an example.  Yesterday, on the way to yoga class, I became aware that something was wrong with Day 22 of the blog.  It was (I thought) preachy.  I spent the entire class INCLUDING SIVASANA thinking about how I was going to fix it.  Then I came home and thought about it while I ate the delicious soup (that I didn’t even notice was delicious until later) thinking about how bad the blog was.  For two more hours, I worried and fretted about how to say correctly, what I thought I said wrong.  So, let’s add up the time I spent: 3: 45 to 9:00 — that’s right, WAY TOO DAMN MUCH!  And the thing is, I don’t think you, dear reader, even noticed the errors I was upset about.  Well maybe some of you did, but you would’ve let them go.  I might have too, if only I hadn’t gotten caught in the dreaded loop.

Unfortunately, I get caught in these loops of over-thinking.  Maybe you do too.  We judge ourselves so harshly, and yet we withhold forgiveness, and love, and kindness, and compassion for ourselves at the drop of a hat.  Which again begs the question: if we can’t have compassion for ourselves, how can we have it for anyone else?  We can’t give what we don’t have.

These are deep-seated issues, stemming all the way back to our perfect childhoods.  Perfect?  Yes, I believe we choose the lessons we need to learn.  I think our higher self makes a list and checks it twice.  Earth is a school — we are here to learn.  So, what’s the rush?  We’ve got nothing but time.

I absolutely know I am exactly where I need to be.  I am doing exactly what I need to be doing.  I’m in the “middle of the ride.” (courtesy of Jimmy Eat World.)  And everything really is going to be okay.

ASANA:  In the spirit of cutting myself some slack, I plan to do some simple breathing exercises and stretches and then spend most of my allotted time in Sivasana.  I really missed it last night.

2 thoughts on “100 Days of Yoga, Day 23

  1. J says:

    Love how raw, exposed and beautiful this blog is!

Leave a Reply

