100 Days of Yoga, Day 27

5

September 17, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

Wild Geese

You do not have to be good.
You do not have to walk on your knees
For a hundred miles through the desert, repenting.
You only have to let the soft animal of your body
love what it loves.
Tell me about despair, yours, and I will tell you mine.
Meanwhile the world goes on.
Meanwhile the sun and the clear pebbles of the rain
are moving across the landscapes,
over the prairies and the deep trees,
the mountains and the rivers.
Meanwhile the wild geese, high in the clean blue air,
are heading home again.
Whoever you are, no matter how lonely,
the world offers itself to your imagination,
calls to you like the wild geese, harsh and exciting —
over and over announcing your place
in the family of things.
~ Mary Oliver ~

This poem resonates with me on so many levels:

Life is so very simple;

We are not alone, there is no good reason to be lonely;

We all suffer;

We Are All One;

We all return home.

This is my go to poem when I feel any of the above missing in my life.  I have songs that can take me there too.  When I feel myself wandering off the path, I must actively get myself back on.  I know from experience, I can’t just wait it out.  When I step into the pit, I forget about doing all the things that make me feel good.  That make me happy.

I’d like to invent some sort of shock collar (the kind used for hard headed dogs, like Etta, to train them.  Etta is the only dog we’ve ever had who has required this.  Etta probably thinks I don’t like her.  Today, for example, we went up to Lake Superior.  We let the dogs out for a run and what does Etta do?  She takes off toward a little old lady with the intent of jumping on her, because that’s what Etta does — all 80 pounds of her, she jumps on people.  So I’m yelling COME at the top of my lungs.  But does she come?  Of course not.  She stops and looks at me like she doesn’t know what the hell I’m talking about.  I’m just saying, she could test the patience of the Pope!)  Anyway, back to the shock collar.  I think we all need reminders of when we slip up on our journey because that, too, is part of the journey.  If we didn’t slip up now and then our work would be done.  So please come up with something and get back to me, okay?

Today is a running day.  I will be missing the BIG race (the Berkie) this coming weekend because I will be at a Yoga retreat on Madeline Island.  Yea! but bummer.  Mike will be running/walking without me.  It is a killer run because it takes place on a ski slope.  Last year I did it in those crazy barefoot running shoes.  Barefoot running shoes are a myth (see study at University of Colorado, Boulder.)  They offer insufficient support and I actually ran more slowly because my feet got wet.  And when my feet get wet they get cold, AND, I got blisters because you don’t wear socks with them — what would be the point of that? Enough said.  No, one more thing.  It was really yucky running on tree roots and up rock covered streams in barefoot running shoes.  So, don’t buy them.  They don’t work and they are expensive.  I gave mine to Goodwill and now some poor homeless person is probably trying to run a race somewhere in them.  I feel sad about that.

Oh, ya … Pranayama:  A deep breathing sort of day.  I’ve heard it is going to snow/rain tonight so I will probably do alternate breathing just to make sure I am breathing deeply.  Change of season does something strange to my sinuses and I start breathing in a shallow way.  It probably has something to do with either Etta or when I wore those damn barefoot running shoes.

Asana:  Lots of hamstring and calf stretching.  I have very, very tight calves.  I blame high heels.  I’m sure all of you are aware, high heels were invented by Satan.  High heels also left me with some kind of pain in the small toes of my left foot.  I don’t recommend high heels, in case you were wondering …

So, back to asana: in addition to hamstring and calf stretches, I will stretch my piraformis muscle (why doescheck spelling think that isn’t a word.  I had to go look it up on google) and then I will do child’s pose for my spine, a twist, for my mood, and finally sivasana.

May the seas be smooth for you today.  With kindness, Chris

 

p.s.  now there is a bee in our house.  No wonder I can’t concentrate.  That and the Broncos traded Tim Tebow to the Jets and the Jets aren’t even playing him.  The Jets deserved to lose for that.  The Broncos made a big mistake, as far as I’m concerned.  I don’t even like Manning — he’s so predictable!  At least last year when Tebow played he made the game exciting.

 

5 thoughts on “100 Days of Yoga, Day 27

  1. Joan Shumway says:

    WRT the path and the slippery slope off of it. For me, and I bet for you, that shock collar is internal because I feel so differently when I am slipping and maybe that is the path. I remember having coffee with you this summer. You had done your practice and the effect of it on you was clear. Seeing that has been a continuous inspiration to me to practice, practice, practice. Love you.

  2. amy annis says:

    Your post made me laugh today. I hope you continue to write after 100 days. I love barefoot shoes but will take a peek at the study….it’s a learning journey, right? Maybe I’ve been had. I have tight calves as well……maybe it’s the barefoot shoes.

    Looking forward to meeting you next week! Namaste.

  3. Chris Janeczko says:

    Thank you to two wise yoga teachers!

  4. Chris Janeczko says:

    p.s. BTW, I think you two will be glad to know I looked up the proper spelling of savasana.

  5. Maja says:

    Your wish has come true: http://pavlok.com/

Leave a Reply

