100 Days of Yoga, Day 47

3

October 7, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

Gosh, I will be so relieved when this election cycle is complete.  I’m trying to find some common ground here and I just can’t seem to get connected.  Why are so many people so angry?  Why are people resorting to racial remarks to vent their frustration?  I don’t remember if I’ve ever witnessed such hatred and ugliness when it comes to politics.  We who are coming awake, need to find a way to deal with the negative energy being generated right now.  It can’t be good for any of us.  (I actually do know where these actions originate: from a place of fear.)

The way my teacher, Ram Dass, taught me to deal with people with whom I was angry, was to work on myself.  If Ram Dass was angry, upset, disillusioned, whatever word you want to use — with someone, he would put a picture of that person on his Puja table, thereby not only honoring the person, but also reminding himself to think good thoughts, and send good energy in that person’s direction.  He also had pictures of Neem Karoli Baba, Jesus, Amma, Mother Teresa, and others on his table, at the same time.  And you know that couldn’t have hurt!

I honor my importance and the importance of others. None of us is dispensable, none of us is replaceable. In the chorus of life each of us brings a True Note, a perfect pitch that adds to the harmony of the whole. I act creatively and consciously to actively endorse and encourage the expansion of those whose lives I touch. Believing in the goodness of each, I add to the goodness of all. We bless each other even in passing.  ~ Julia Cameron

Ms. Cameron offers excellent advice.  To disparage another only makes us feel badly about ourselves, and separate from other beings.  We who are waking up want to recognize the “oneness” of everyone, not the separateness.

So while I can’t bring myself to watch the evening news, perhaps I can open myself enough to let others’ opinions regarding the election, simply flow through me without getting stuck in me.  And if I can’t, I won’t return hate with hate, I will simply look away.

 

“The words of the Buddha offer these truths:
Hatred never ceases by hatred but by love alone is healed.  
This is the ancient and eternal law.
Like a caring mother holding and guarding the life of her only child,
so with a boundless heart hold yourself and all beings.”                     
(courtesy of Jack Kornfield)

Let the change begin with us.  Let us return hatred, anger, frustration, sarcasm and mean-spiritedness, with love and compassion.  AND, accept whatever comes back, knowing what we’ve done has, at the very least, shifted the energy of the conversation.

Here is a lovely guided meditation on peace:

http://www.beliefnet.com/Wellness/2007/01/Peace-Meditation.aspx

With love and compassion for all beings, Chris

3 thoughts on “100 Days of Yoga, Day 47

  1. Nancy Nevinski says:

    A perfect time for me to receive this message. I was the recipient of what I perceived as a cruel comment spoken by a friend. I have spent the last couple of days in that place where we hold endless conversations in our mind where we say what we think we should have said in order to be equally hurtful, or to at least express our hurt. This week, I will instead let go of it and shift the energy by blessing the person just as they are in the here and now. Thank you, Chris

  2. Joan Shumway says:

    I love this post, Chris. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

