100 Days of Yoga, Day 54

Leave a comment

October 14, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

We’ve got this gift of love, but love is like a precious plant. You can’t just accept it and leave it in the cupboard or just think it’s going to get on by itself. You’ve got to keep watering it. You’ve got to really look after it and nurture it. 
John Lennon 

This is true of our practice as well. If we only go to the mat once a week, or we only practice breath control here and there, and if we just meditate if the mood strikes us OR, if we are loving toward one person, but curse another, we will not succeed in our goal.

This practice of yoga is a practice.  As we learned in the book Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell, it takes a minimum of 10,000 hours of practice in order to become proficient at something.  So, let’s do the math again.  10,000 hours at, say two hours of practice each day, seven days each week, that’s 14 hours per week.  Okay, that’s a lot, probably we need to take the weekends off.  Okay, two hours per day at five days per week.  There we go, ten hours per week.  That will make it only 1000 weeks.  So, 52 weeks in a year: wow, in 19.23 years, I’ll have it.

I’m not sure I want to spend 19 1/4 years working toward this goal unless I have an absolute guarantee that I’ll have it then. (HA HA HA!)

I think I get the part now, again, where it is important to stay in the moment.  (Perhaps this is why so many yoga teachers have tattoos — to remind themselves to stay in the moment.)  In each moment that I can remember to do so, I will practice the yamas and niyamas.  Everyday I will do asana, pranayama and meditation.  AND I WLL STOP FORGETTING ABOUT THE GOAL and just BE THE PRACTICE.

This is where I am reminded again of Gandhi’s words: “My life is my message.”  I will set my goal for this moment, and then this moment, and on and on.

Let’s add one more spin for today’s thought machine; good luck not getting this song stuck in your head all day!

With love and kindness, Chris

Leave a Reply

