100 Days of Yoga, Day 66

2

October 26, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

PLEASE DEAR GOD LET THIS ELECTION BE OVER!

 

I live in a swing state.  I am being inundated with a barrage of negativity.  When did our political discourse become so ugly? When did we become so divided?  In order to be in the world but not of the world I feel like I need to be living in a cave.  I think when Patanjali wrote the Eight Limbs of Yoga he couldn’t have anticipated the environment we are living in today.

But on to matters at hand.  Today can be summed up in one word: MISCOMMUNICATION.  Nearly every interaction I had today involved miscommunication.  Because I was the common denominator, I need to look closely at myself and see if I can figure out where I got off track.

 

My internet, telephone and television all went out today.  Either an asteroid hit the house, or we had a snow storm.  That was the first of the miscommunications.  Where we live our cellphone coverage is only on the south side of the house or in the backyard.  Trying to talk cellphone to cellphone can be tricky under the best of conditions as cellphones only allow one person to speak at a time, but when you add to that the breaking up that happens when coverage isn’t working … well, I think you know how that works.

I could go through and give you a dozen examples of broken down communications I had today, but they would be redundant.  Everything starts and stops with me.  I am responsible for every interaction — there is no blaming someone else.  That, too, is part of yoga: it’s always about me.  It is why I don’t accept the word should, in fact I consider it a four letter word.  I’d rather use could, stood, good, hood, wood … oh wait, misunderstood!  My miscommunications were actually misunderstandings.  Why would that be?  I think perhaps I have an idea.

Because I finished yesterday’s blog early (see what happens when you cut and paste the whole thing?)  I did the dreaded, told myself not to do thing –I watched television last night.  (I also ate a lot of sugar, but that is another story.)  Even though I hit mute every time a political commercial came on the television, the ATTACK ADS got through my filter and in to my subconscious.  I’ve had two months of practicing Sauca and in one evening — three hours — of television, I was sullied again.  The untruths/half-truths got into my psyche and affected the manner in which I then miscommunicated with so many people today.  This goes back to one of the things I often say: you can’t give what you don’t have.  In this case, however, it appears I can subconsciously pass on to someone else the miscommunication I picked up from watching television.  Can it really be that simple?

I’d really like to hear your feedback on this one, because I’m not at all sure I’ve got it right.  I know I didn’t sleep well last night.  I know, right now, I wish I’d read poetry last night instead of watching television.  But still … is it possible to pick up these awful words from the political ads and, without knowing it, incorporate their message into my day?

Yes, there will be a quiz at the end.

Tonight I will be reading a book by Dr. Brene Brown, titled The Gifts of Imperfection.  (subtitled: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are)

I’m off television again … and sugar.

With great kindness, Chris

2 thoughts on “100 Days of Yoga, Day 66

  1. Melissa says:

    I’m thinking, this world requires sugar…..and television????? At least for now 🙂

  2. JJ says:

    No need to “GO OFF” anything.

    Do what I do- Use your DVR. fast forward through anything you don’t want to see.
    The Food network doesn’t have attack ads. Neither does Discovery, National Geographic, Cooking channel, Animal planet, Travel, or science channels!

    Create a favorites channel list that DOESN’T INCLUDE CNN, CSNBC, Fox News and the like!

    It’s much better on your constitution.

Leave a Reply

