100 Days of Yoga, Day 67

Leave a comment

October 27, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

Sometimes life becomes like a runaway train.  I become exhausted and overwhelmed and all I want to do is retreat, but life calls and retreat I cannot.  When I reach that wall, however, I do have something I can do.  While repeating a mantra I give myself an attunement.  It is kind of like a tune-up.  The YouTube below is a mantra.  All you need to do is listen to it while you do the following:

Find a comfortable seated position.  Once you are comfortable, bring your arms to your sides and bend them at the elbow so that your hands are parallel, about 18 – 24 inches apart, palms facing.  While listening to the mantra, you will start to feel a sensation in your hands.  It will feel like a heated, spinning or perhaps a slightly warm vibration in your palms.  Hold that feeling until you can feel it moving back and forth from palm to palm — as if it is a ping pong ball.  After you have established that feeling of movement, see if you can move it into your body.  Using my mind, I often direct the energy I am creating (think of it like static electricity) into the places I hold stress: my neck, back, stomach.  Once I have used the energy to release the stress I am feeling, I then direct the energy to my heart and throat.  Those are my body parts that need the most tuning up.

It takes only a little practice to use this technique.  Once you have mastered self-attunement, the technique can be used anywhere, anytime.  There are many mantras available to you on the internet.  My favorite, other than my own, is the Guru Rinpoche Mantra.  It, too, is available on YouTube. 

I find I can’t actively practice the Eight Limbs of Yoga unless my mind is clear.  Self-attunement is one of the tools in my arsenal I use to make that happen.  I hope it works for you, too.  If you have any questions about mantras or self-attunement, I’d be happy to explain further, just let me know.

 

Yours in peace & love, Chris

Leave a Reply

