100 Days of Yoga, Day 69

2

October 29, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

All that you seek is already within you. In Hinduism it is called the Atman, in Buddhism the pure Buddha-Mind. Christ said, “the kingdom of heaven is within you.” Quakers call it the ‘still small voice within.’ This is the space of full awareness that is in harmony with all the universe, and thus is wisdom itself.
 ~ Ram Dass

For the last two mornings I’ve awoken at 3 a.m.  I give myself ten minutes to fall back to sleep and when I don’t, I get up for the day.  It is an outward manifestation of an internal problem.

The problem is, since returning from Wisconsin I’ve been too much in the world.  My time in Wisconsin is like a retreat: quiet, spiritual, solitary.  I re-enter my life here with great trepidation and unease.  But then, to paraphrase a poem from my granddaughter, Julia, if I lived here (in Wisconsin) all the time, would it always be so special?

Why is it that I can be in the world, but not of the world so easily there, but not here?  This is something I need to figure out, because I can feel the happiness slowly slipping away.  So, in difficult times I head to the mat.  In good times too, but in difficult times I look for other things from my asana practice.

It goes without saying I will be working on heart openings, but I will also go inward with child’s pose and forward folds.  I will try to find the yin and the yang … the balance.

Happiness is a choice.  Every day I have a new opportunity to choose how I will feel, even in the face of adversity.  To quote a friend of mine: “you need to learn to lighten up, missy.”  Yes, he was talking to me.

 

With an open heart I remain faithfully yours, Chris    

 

2 thoughts on “100 Days of Yoga, Day 69

  1. JJ says:

    Like My Dad always used to say to us when we were kids- (From the movie STRIPES) with Bill Murray-

    “Lighten up Francis!”

Leave a Reply

