100 Days of Yoga, Day 70

Leave a comment

October 30, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

Have you ever thought about running down the campaign signs of the candidate you are NOT voting for?  I think of it often, but then quickly follow up with a blessing, hoping that just thinking about it doesn’t put another smudge on my Karma.  Lord knows I have enough smudges for this lifetime.

In my 70 days on this path I have learned the path to unhappiness is paved with expectations.  I have learned that I have to let go of all expectations, not just of myself, but of others as well.  This is something I must practice everyday — letting go of expectations.   Just like asana, just like meditation, just like practicing the yamas and niyamas, the practice of being happy must happen every moment of every day.  Happiness cannot co-exist with anger, sarcasm, drama, envy, hatred, worry, being judgmental … you probably have a list of your own; those are just a few of my favorites.

I have a new system: every time one of those emotions arise, I will meet it with a deep breath and a softening of my heart.  Until I am stronger, I will limit my exposure to the things that can set me off.  I will borrow some blinders from the horses, so that I can only look forward.

Here is a great hip opening yoga class I did today:

Going forward, when I feel like I might run over some sign, or run into the back of a car with a particular candidates name on it, here is the song I will be sing:

Yours forever more, Chris

Leave a Reply

