100 Days of Yoga, Day 72

1

November 1, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

Birdwings

Your grief for what you’ve lost lifts a mirror
up to where you are bravely working.

Expecting the worst, you look, and instead,
here’s the joyful face you’ve been wanting to see.

Your hand opens and closes and opens and closes.
If it were always a fist or always stretched open,
you would be paralysed.

Your deepest presence is in every small contracting and expanding,
the two as beautifully balanced and coordinated
as birdwings.

~ Rumi

How does yoga help with the changes being human require?  Life is, after all, change — nothing remains the same.  From my practice, I have found the only way to handle change is through the practice of yoga, or some other road map.  And still, even with a plan change is very hard.

VII. Dhyana (Devotion , Meditation on the Divine)

       As we fine-tune our concentration and become more aware of the nature of reality we perceive that the world is unreal. “The only reality is the universal self, or God, which is veiled by Maya (the illusory power). As the veils are lifted, the mind becomes clearer. Unhappiness and fear – even the fear of death – vanishes. This state of freedom, or Moksha, is the goal of Yoga. It can be reached by constant enquiry into the nature of things.”xvii Meditation becomes our tool to see things clearly and perceive reality beyond the illusions that cloud our mind.  ~ William J. D. Duran

Admittedly, it is nearly impossible to get to this point.  It requires practice, practice, and more practice.  And it requires a leap of faith.  No small undertaking.  But, ultimately, what choice do we really have except to jump and trust the net will appear ???

I have it from many very reliable sources that no one leaves a moment before or after his or her time.  I figured you wanted to know.

My next piece of advice to myself: DO SOMETHING BRAVE EVERY DAY!

Yesterday my husband went hunting, leaving me to put the chickens away in the barn at night.  I’ve never had chickens before so I’m not sure if they are naturally stupid or if we just happened to buy stupid chickens.  Nonetheless, I went out at dusk to gather them up (keep in mind we have bears, coyotes and mountain lions where we live) and what did they do?  They scattered, doing their little jump, fly routine away from me.  I spent until dark trying to talk them into coming into the barn.  (As an aside, one of their sisters has already been taken out!) Finally, I gave up, left the barn door open and went back to the house.  At 9 p.m., using every bit of courage I had, I walked out to the barn (which is a mighty far walk — especially in the dark) to shut the barn door.  There they all were, walking around talking about Lord knows what, not even realizing how much danger they had been in and how scared I was to have to walk all the way out there to protect their silly lives.

But here is the deal, by the time I got back to the house I felt like Super Woman (without the pointy bra of course.)  It was exhilarating not to be afraid — to have conquered my fear.  Now if I could only figure out a way to make our chickens smarter.

Tomorrow I head to Maui for five days with Ram Dass.  Yes, I am the luckiest girl in the whole USA.  I will do my very best to keep up with the blog, but come on … I’ll be in Maui!

Yours in bravery, Chris

One thought on “100 Days of Yoga, Day 72

  1. Michael Janeczko says:

    You truly are a brave woman… thanks for being with me…protector of our chickens…and a few other things too.. Love /// Me

Leave a Reply

