100 Days of Yoga, Day 75

2

November 4, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

 

I woke up at 2:56 a.m. this morning, instead of 3 a.m. – whew, I thought I might be getting into a rut there.

I got on Facebook and commented on something someone had posted about making welfare recipients undergo drug testing. It was sad and painful to read. I wrote: “This is painful to read. Addiction is a disease, not a moral issue. Who are we to judge another?”

I made only a slight dent in the conversation, but I am still stuck on the hurtfulness and judgment of such a statement. As I reflected further, I realized this state of judgment is endemic in our culture. It might be why we’ve become so polarized politically. And it might be very bad for our souls. Judgment is an ego-driven game. Yet, here I am, making a judgment about people making judgments.

How do we contribute to the goodness of the world? How do we bring the qualities we’ve learned as yogis to the conversation, without doing so in a way that makes others close their hearts to us? I think it is, at least in part, if not in full, what we discussed earlier: Mahatma Gandhi: “My life is my message.”

I think maybe we bring our practice into every element of our being. I think we soften our hearts to everyone. I think we love everyone to the extent we are able, until we can learn how to love more (we can only give what we have.) I think, somehow, we learn to stop our judgments when they arise and replace them with love.

We have this wonderful period of practice time right now: a political race. Instead of yelling at the television ads (one of my more common practices,) perhaps we can open our hearts and send tender loving kindness to the authors of the advertisements. Imagine the anger required to write such things, to read or act out such statements. That must hurt a lot. Even if we don’t actively realize we are hurting ourselves, our bodies register the emotion. Cue up yesterday as an example: how much damage did I do to my body, and to the world, with my starring role as Chris goes on a drama tour? In the overall creating more karma, one hell of a lot of damage was done. My mirror has new layers of dust that will need to be polished clean.

 

So the deal with being with Ram Dass for me is: the lessons are big, but the love is even bigger. When I am with Ram Dass, I don’t just feel love, I am love.

 

I remain humbly and gratefully yours, Chris

2 thoughts on “100 Days of Yoga, Day 75

  1. maria says:

    I must share Chris, that this post in particular has truly moved me. All your others have been wonderful, but this one, well, it went deep and took hold.

    Today, for the first time in almost a year, I returned to a place of worship, to be together with others without all the judgment, on my part mostly. I am learning, through Yoga and my Faith, to love others as they are. To accept them as they are and to allow my life to be a statement of love.

    Thank you so much for your words.

    m.

Leave a Reply

