100 Days of Yoga, Day 79

Leave a comment

November 8, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

The objective in dharana is to steady the mind by focusing its attention upon some stable entity. The particular object selected has nothing to do with the general purpose, which is to stop the mind from wandering -through memories, dreams, or reflective thought-by deliberately holding it single-mindedly upon some apparently static object. B.K.S. Iyengar states that the objective is to achieve the mental state where the mind, intellect, and ego are “all restrained and all these faculties are offered to the Lord for His use and in His service. Here there is no feeling of ‘I’ and ‘mine’.” ~ William J. D. Duran

Even though it may appear I am wondering off the path of yoga when I talk about love, joy, compassion, and peace, I am actually trying to bring in all back to the sixth step of yoga, Dyanara. In Dyanara we are fine-tuning our words, thoughts and actions so that they are all in alignment. In doing so, I can see my life improving in a way that can be felt, even measured.

“Don’t blindly believe what I say. Don’t believe me because others convince you of my words. Don’t believe anything you see, read, or hear from others, whether of authority, religious teachers or texts. Don’t rely on logic alone, nor speculation. Don’t infer or be deceived by appearances.”

“Do not give up your authority and follow blindly the will of others. This way will lead to only delusion.”

“Find out for yourself what is truth, what is real. Discover that there are virtuous things and there are non-virtuous things. Once you have discovered for yourself give up the bad and embrace the good.”

– The Buddha

The changes in my life over the last 79 days have been huge: I willingly go to the mat and to the meditation cushion. I know both will keep me in the place of contentment.  I get back from people what I put out there, and what I choose to emit is love, joy, compassion and peace. Many don’t see it, many do — it doesn’t matter to me if they respond or not. I do so for myself, not for others.

I have gone through my inventory of people I haven’t forgiven and polished my mirror. My heart is open and trusting. I can see now the “transgressions” were blown way out of proportion. I added so much drama to the situation, it was no longer even close to the original event. In forgiving others, I’m really forgiving myself. In forgiving others, I am releasing the clinging to the past, or as Jack Kornfield says: Forgiveness is giving up all hope of a better past.

 

I am also letting go of the part of me that looks at the past and blames myself – the dreaded shoulds. I am accepting that everything in my life (yes, the bad too) has happened for my highest good. Just as I will not judge the karma of someone else, I won’t offer up mine for the approval or disapproval of another. A giant, gaping whole inside me has been filled and my heart has been opened. I no longer need to look outside myself for approval: exactly as I am is good enough.

I have spent so much of my life focusing on the negative, it is now time to focus on the goodness — of which I see everywhere, every day.

With abundant gratitude, Chris

Leave a Reply

