100 Days of Yoga, Day 80

Leave a comment

November 9, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

The power of God is with you at all times; through the activities of mind, senses, breathing, and emotions; and is constantly doing all the work using you as a mere instrument.” (from The Bhagavad Gita)

The Bhagavad Gita is one of the most profound books I’ve ever read. It contains the answer to pretty much every question I could possibly have. The version I prefer is the three part version (required for my yoga teacher certification) by Eknath Easwaran. If you find yourself with a spare month or so of reading time, I highly recommend it.

The above quote resonates with me, especially now. I am still jet lagged from my trip to Maui (which involved 30 hours without sleep) and then, of course, all the stuff of getting back to day to day life. In other words, I’m beat. This quote reminds me the work I am here to do is still going on as long as I remain in that openhearted place of love, compassion, joy and peace.

I can go about my chores, with as little or as much energy as I have, knowing I don’t need to actively do my practice, because my life is my practice. The work I am here to do is still going on because I am a vessel through which God flows. This is what being openhearted in yoga means. We are seeking Union with God (the definition of Yoga, by the way,) and once the work is started, it goes on all by itself. We just need to do the things necessary to stay out of the way (EGO!)

I have to tell you, until I was actually in yoga teacher training I detested the word “God.” To say I didn’t believe in God was an understatement. I detested religion as a whole – it gave me the hibbie-jibbies. I had seen it in action and didn’t want any part of it. Once I learned about God being me and vise versa, I slowly became more comfortable with the concept. As to religion I say: whatever gets you through the night. Life is hard. If you’ve found a religion that makes life bearable, I say go for it. It is not up to me to judge you. We all have to do what is right for ourselves; that which makes us better people.

One of the things I stress so much is, we don’t get to judge another’s Karma. I stress it because I spent so many years doing so. I see now, I am happier when I don’t judge. I am happier when I simply let other people do their own Karma and I mind my own business.

Ultimately, we are all beings with both good and bad components. What we focus on is what we become. I choose to focus on my goodness.

 

May we all be filled with love and compassion for one another, Chris

 

Leave a Reply

