100 Days of Yoga, Day 83

Leave a comment

November 12, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

Be compassionate. You’re a poignant human. And you’ve got all your stuff. You’ve got lust, greed, hatred, ill wills, agitation and doubt. That’s what you are doing here. If you didn’t have those, you wouldn’t be here. That’s who we are. That’s this plane of reality. There are other planes, where others don’t have all those things, and you’ll have plenty of chances for that. So don’t worry. Enjoy this one. Be human. Try being human.
~ Ram Dass

I really like this quote by RD. It reminds me to “lighten up, Missy” (thank you Larry Mann.) Although there are many things to learn through the Eight Limbs of Yoga, there is also a time – at least for me – to relax and enjoy being human. Sometimes I forget that part. Not every penny needs to go to the poor. It is okay if I buy myself some new clogs once and awhile. (Plus it helps the economy recover, right?) I think as long as I stay in the place of BEING the Yamas and Niyamas, I can go about being human. I just don’t have to be so strict about it all the time.

As I come more awake, I find these messages surface more and more at just the right time, at the same time I’m thinking about certain things. As I read other blogs, or Facebook postings, I find a topic I am currently exploring, is being explored by many others at the same time. Many people are writing about the need to forgive. Many are writing about the need to love unconditionally. There is a synchronicity here that brings me comfort – as if I have somehow gotten on the right train and we’re all heading in the same direction.

Here is something else I’ve learned on my path: I can’t not know what I now know. I can’t go backward. I can’t go back to sleep. The changes inside me will be built upon – I won’t have to start at the bottom of the hill and climb up to this place. I’ll start from this place and keep climbing.

My asana practice is smaller – some days only ten minutes. My meditation practice is longer, and more frequent. Staying with the other limbs of yoga gets easier every day. The practicing part actually does work (who would have thought?)

Yours while being human, Chris

Leave a Reply

