100 Days of Yoga, Day 87

Leave a comment

November 16, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

My friend, Tom, believes after we drop our bodies, we meet up with every person we encountered while we were alive and we settle our debts, as it were. We evaluate each relationship: did we tell each other the truth? Did we harshly judge? Were we self-righteous? Were we kind and loving? Did we show compassion and love? There will be no walls to hide behind, no secrets, the truth will be evident. So how will we stack up? Tom goes into every relationship, no matter how brief, with this attitude.

I think Tom has it right, at least in terms of how we live our lives. If every person we encounter we know we’ll meet up with later (with no words to hide behind,) how would we treat that person now? This is a version of answering to God for our sins. Only everyone is God.

How would we live our life, going forward, if Tom’s theory is correct? I think all of us believe some version of this theory might be true. It might be the idea of heaven and hell or reincarnation, but in the West, from what I’ve read and observed, people think about this stuff and come up with something. Sometimes we don’t consider the question consciously, but instead throw the whole idea out, proclaim ourselves to be atheist and live as though the manner in which we swim up the river is irrelevant. It is, after all, scary to take responsibility for the manner in which we have lived our lives. And as I’ve written before, many don’t. Many go through life blaming and judging, never figuring out their part in the whole grand scheme of things.

As we’ve discussed before, the power of our words and actions is huge. I wish, for at least a short time, our words could be in a physical form so that we could actually see the damage or love they create.

Be careful of your thoughts, for your thoughts become your words.

Be careful of your words, for your words become your actions.

Be careful of your actions, for your actions become your habits.

Be careful of your habits, for your habits become your character.

Be careful of your character, for your character becomes your destiny.”

~ unknown author

It’s funny how, still at my age, if I’m not very, very careful, I can become like those with whom I associate. Knowing this about myself, it is very important for me to associate with those who are operating on a higher frequency. Someday soon, I hope to have practiced the Mountain Pose enough, literally and figuratively, to be the mountain, but for now, I’m just mindfully doing the best I can with what I have.

 

Yours while treading water and looking for a break in the river, Chris

Leave a Reply

