100 Days of Yoga, Day 88

2

November 17, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

 

In order to write this blog I’ve really had to get to the place of hammering home the fact that I am writing this for myself. When I get hung up on thinking I’m writing it for someone, all of a sudden, it isn’t the truth anymore. Writing it for myself means, if there is a quality in it that may pertain to someone else, I have that quality as well. It is not my intent for there to be any personal attacks, no vendettas, no lectures. This blog addresses my life long issue of unhappiness, or more specifically, how The Eight Limbs of Yoga can fix me.

I have discovered a great deal of my life has been spent in the company of pessimistic people. Again, we become like those with whom we associate. As part of my rehabilitation program, I have been removing – where possible – the pessimistic people and replacing them with optimistic people. I used to think I needed to save people from themselves, to convert them to the happy way. I now see the error of my ways. It isn’t, nor was it ever, my job. My job is to be the best me I can be, all the time. That means making unpopular choices. That means keeping silent or withdrawing from those who have negative qualities I know I can easily succumb to, and join in on their rants, complaining, criticism, negativity, pessimism.

Recently I have learned yet another important tool: intention. There are times when my intention becomes “fuzzy.” In particular, when I do more than one thing at a time, or if I am feeling overwhelmed by things that have to get done in my life, or if I haven’t eaten right or exercised, or a bunch of other things, my intention can waver. This is difficult to explain, so here is a metaphor I hope will come close: never cut meat with a dull knife! I learned this in high school, in a class only required of females: Home Economics. (What a waste of a brain!) Anyway, I digress. My intention needs to be razor sharp. I need to be clear about what is behind my words. This involves being absolutely impeccable with my word. There can be no hidden agenda, no manipulation and no dishonesty or my intention is sullied.

I have had many opportunities since I returned from Maui to test what I’ve learned. I think this is how a spiritual path works: you get the lesson, and then a test follows, and you keep getting the tests until you finally get the lesson. Dear God, it takes me a long time to get the lessons!

 

Yours with the very best of intentions, Chris

2 thoughts on “100 Days of Yoga, Day 88

  1. maria says:

    You get the lesson…you understand, then comes the test of it. Excellent post! I am going to begin to read from day 1…so much wisdom here.
    m.

Leave a Reply

