100 Days of Yoga, Day 95

Leave a comment

November 24, 2012 by blogmasterjdeam

As an experiment, I believe I can say this plan has worked. My heart has softened, I am kinder, gentler, more in love with all mankind. I am content, filled with wonder and amazement, at peace, and I’ve developed a new habit: happiness.

So how exactly did the practice of The Eight Limbs of Yoga help me? First off, it wasn’t just the Eight Limbs; spending five days with Ram Dass in Maui was perfect timing during my journey: I was ready to receive the teaching.

The Eight Limbs did, however, give me structure. It kept me on the path toward happiness every day. Remember when I wrote about how many hours it takes of practice in order to achieve a level of proficiency? 10,000 hours. (Malcolm Gladwell in The Outliers)

Between asana, meditation, writing this blog, and practicing on other people the Yamas and Niyamas, I believe I’ve devoted at least ten hours each day to the goal. When I’m finished that will be close to 1000 hours. Apparently I’ll have to continue this practice for another 900 days in order to reach absolute proficiency. I think that’s not a bad way to live. Because, you see, I can’t go back. I can no longer not know.

Why fear this moment 
when no thoughts come 
at last I lie naked 
in the arms of experience

why fear this moment 
when no words come 
at last I find rest
 in the lap of silence

why fear this moment
 when love finds itself alone 
at last I am embraced
 by infinity itself

why fear this moment 
when judgment falls away 
at last my defenses 
fail to keep intimacy at bay

why fear this moment
 when hope is lost
 at last my foolish dreams 
are surrendered to perfection

~ Nirmala

Fearlessly yours, Chris

Leave a Reply

